If only i could

I thought i would go visit  my mother 

in the cemetery ,

to caress the cold stone of her grave, 

but then the hours passed

and the time went by

and i did not go,

but then i walked down the familiar streets 

i waited by her house 

for her to come back home 

carrying fruit from the market place ,

i waited for her to come out 

but she stayed deep down in the ground 

and then the rain came down 

 washed my tears away

and i knew that she would never 

be too far away..


אילו יכולתי
ריקי גל
מילים: אהוד מנור
לחן: מתי כספי
קיים ביצוע נוסף לשיר זה

אמא,
שיר הערש ששרת מזמן רודף אותי, לאן אברח, לאן?
אילו יכולתי, הייתי שוכחת איך באתי לכאן.

אמא,
לא אוכל להימלט מכישופך, עיני חשכו פתאום.
אילו יכולתי הייתי חוזרת אלייך היום.

אמא, הו אמא,
איך בדמי, בעמקי נשמתי, דעתך נחושה.
אמא, הו אמא,
את וגם אני, בשנאה ואהבה, בין כוח וחולשה.

אמא,
איך רציתי שתחבקי ותלטפי ותאמיני בי,
אילו יכולתי הייתי עוקרת אותך מליבי.

אמא,
אין לי בית בחדרי, במיטתי, ואין לי מנוחה
אילו יכולתי הייתי בוכה עוד דמעה מלוחה.

אמא, הו אמא…

אמא,
את יודעת, אני זקופה וחזקה, כמוך בכל מצב,
אילו יכולתי, הייתי רוצה להודות לך עכשיו.

אמא, הו אמא…

אמא, הו אמא,
אילו יכולתי הייתי בוכה עוד דמעה מלוחה.
אמא, הו אמא

If only i could

words : Ehud Manor

Lyrics: Mati Caspi

Sang by Ricky Gal

Translated from Hebrew by seagull L.

Mother ,

the lullaby song that you sang to me a long time ago 

haunts me ,

if i could 

i would forget how i came here, 

Mother,

how could i escape your magic spell 

my eyes have darken all of the sudden, 

if i could 

i would return to you today. 

Mother,

ah,

oh mother, 

how in my blood, 

in the depth of my soul, 

your mind is determined?

mother, 

oh mother, 

you and i 

in  hate and in love,

between strength and weakness.

Mother, 

how i wanted you to hug me 

and caress me and believe in me, 

if i could

i would uproot you from my heart, 

Mother,

i don’t have a house

within my rooms and in my home, 

if i could 

i would cry another salty tear.

mother, 

oh mother,

How in  my blood

and in the  depths of my soul 

your mind is determined. 

Mother, 

oh mother, 

you and i 

in hate and in love 

between strength and weakness. 

wp-image-1711554366jpg.jpg

in every situation, 

if i could 

i would thank you now, 

mother, 

oh mother, 

how in my blood 

in the depth of my soul 

your mind is determined. 

Mother, 

oh mother, 

you and i 

in hate and in love 

between strength and weakness. 

Mother,

oh mother, 

if i could 

i would cry another salty tear, 

mother, 

oh mother, 

if i could 

i would thank you 

now. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About seagullsea

a seagull flying over the great ocean of life observing.
This entry was posted in adaptation, Death and mourning, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

